Vin Number Locations

No tech discussion, please

Moderator: FORDification

tanusfarms

Vin Number Locations

Post by tanusfarms »

Howdy All! I Am New to the site. Today I bought my first Ford Is supposed to be a 1975 f250 Ranger 4x4 With a dump bed, custom front bumper, and warn model 8274 winch mounted on the front. All for a mear $300. Now i say this is supposed to be a 1975 because the registration and title i was given state one vin number and the driver side door jamb states a completely different vin number. The door jamb states it is a 1970 truck. Does anyone know where i can find the location of the Vin number that is stamped on the frame of the 1975 f250? Also seeing how i am new to fords in general how can i tell if this truck was origonally a "high boy" Not sure if this was a year they even made them but though i would ask any ways. thanks again from olympia, washington!
Greg

Custom Built and modified F250 highboy, custom dump box, Warn model 8274 winch mounted on the 335 lbs front bumper
Image Image
fordman
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: Vin Number Locations

Post by fordman »

the 67-72 trucks have them on the front top passenger frame. in the engine compartment. soem were also supposedly put under the cab on top of the frame. the 75 should have a similar location.

you probably was given the wrong title is my guess. in other words you cant do anything with what you have. unless you have a builders title. then you will get a cop to come out and give you a whole new vin. but you have to have reciepts for every piece on the truck. body and frame basically.

more than likely that is a 70 body on a 75 frame. it has been done before. and when it was done it should have been done with a builders title and not the way it was done. now that truck can get impounded if the cop see something fishy. like the door vin missing or not matching the registration.
Redcap
Blue Oval Fanatic
Blue Oval Fanatic

Post by Redcap »