RobbMc fuel filters and fittings: which size works for us?

Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

robroy
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

RobbMc fuel filters and fittings: which size works for us?

Post by robroy »

Good morning,

I like the looks of RobbMc fuel filters and fittings. It looks like the fuel filter bodies have NPT threads on them, and the fittings have NPT on one side (to go in the filter body) and AN on the other (to go on your fuel hose).

Here are the filter bodies; RobbMc has a large and small model--I'd get the small one (about 3" long):

And here's one of the fittings:

I'm new to AN fittings, so I looked in Wikipedia and see that a -6 AN connection fits 3/8" OD tubing. And a -8 AN connections fits 1/2" OD tubing. Here's the article I read: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AN_thread

Five questions come to mind:

1. Which fitting size would work for our trucks (AN -6 [3/8" OD tubing] or AN -8 [1/8" OD tubing])?

2. Would the fitting be an exact fit, or would it need to be adapted to the stock fuel hose size (5/16" or 3/8", I'm not certain which)?

3. How does the fuel hose actually attach to the AN connection? Does it just press over the end and get a hose clamp to seal?

4. What material would be appropriate on the NPT threads to ensure a good seal? Teflon tape, grease, or nothing at all?

5. Perhaps this should have been question #1: Do you guys think these fuel filters are top notch, and a sensible choice considering the alternatives?

Thanks very much for all the great advice!
-Robroy
Dragon
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: RobbMc fuel filters and fittings: which size works for us?

Post by Dragon »

robroy wrote: 1. Which fitting size would work for our trucks (AN -6 [3/8" OD tubing] or AN -8 [1/8" OD tubing])?

2. Would the fitting be an exact fit, or would it need to be adapted to the stock fuel hose size (5/16" or 3/8", I'm not certain which)?