Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

Skifu
Preferred User
Preferred User

can anyone tell me what happens?

Post by Skifu »

Hello board members,

I know I dont have many posts here,but Ive been pulling wrenches for over 25 years,and this is the first time Ive seen this happen,and it was on my truck!

Here goes,96 F150 ex-cab swb,300 6 2wd,Eod.Ok,my alternator went out,not to strange,ive changed a thousand,but my truck set not running for 1 month,I reinstalled the new alt.and went in to fire her up,I had a loud squealing noise,I shut her down,by the way,she fired right up after setting a month within seconds!so I took the tension off the belt,and tried turning all my pulleys by hand,every thing was good except the A.I.R(smog pump),so I had it out in a flash,and thought oh,its just stuck from setting,Gentlemen,this som bitch acted as if it was welded shut by the gremelins that attack our cars and trucks when were not looking,I took it in my shop,at home,and sprayed it with a little wd,took the dog for a walk,and thought that would do it,but no!so now it had my attention,I easily tightened it into my vise,even though it says right on it not to do so,I used shop rags to buffer it,anyway,it wouldnt move,so I took off the pully,and heated it a little with the hot wrench,I just warmed it up,not nucking it,and still nothing,I got a wrench that would fit the bolt pattern,and got down on it,all 245 lbs of me,and it turned,but its frozen,no 2 ways about it,and it was working fine,never made a noise when the truck was shut down to order the alt.(I live in Panama,canal zone)so,we know what happened,but could someone tell me why???? :? :? 8) :thup:
94 Ford F-150 super cab
300-6 eod auto,changing to NP-435
theskytoucher
Preferred User
Preferred User

Re: can anyone tell me what happens?

Post by theskytoucher »